D.C. United and Audi Field to host inaugural Capital Cup

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Major League Soccer side D.C. United will be the host for the inaugural Capital Cup, a new international soccer club tournament.

The competition will occur from July 7 to July 14 at Audi Field, D.C. United’s stadium. The Capital Cup will feature MLS team D.C United, LigaMX side Club Puebla, Alianza FC from El Salvador, and Costa Rican side Liga Deportiva Alajuelense. 

Audi Field announced earlier that the stadium will be functioning at full capacity to host fans throughout the entirety of the tournament. All clubs will face each opposition during the course of the week, with all matching taking place in D.C.

In standard fashion, the team with the most points at the conclusion of the tournament will be crowned the first-ever Capital Cup champions. 

“The Capital Cup marries the most popular sport in the world with one of the most diverse and recognized global capitals, Washington, D.C.,” said Jason Levien, Co-Chairman and CEO of D.C. United. “We look forward to welcoming high-caliber clubs from across the globe to compete and entertain our fanbase and the diverse, multicultural community that lives and works in the DC-area. This annual summer tournament is a testament to the vision we had when we built Audi Field.”

Ola KamaraOla Kamara

Audi Field will be at full capacity / Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

D.C. United confirmed that as the tournament evolves, the international clubs expected to participate will vary. The four teams joining the inaugural competition are not subject to remain permanent members moving forward. Each side will meet with each other, some for the first time in history. 

Hosts United stand as the most decorated club in Major League Soccer with 13 national and international trophies. The Black-and-Red have won four MLS Cups and the Supporters’ shield on four occasions. Club Puebla, known as La Franja, has been part of LigaMX for more than 75 years and holds 12 national and international championships. In 1991, Club Puebla defeated international clubs to become CONCACAF champions league winners. They most recently faced D.C. United in 2019 during a friendly match that ended in a 1-1 draw. 

El Salvador side Alianza FC have won 15 Primera Division titles since being founded in 1958. Almost 9 years after their inaugural season, Alianza FC won the CONCACAF Champions Cup, and currently stand as one of the most successful clubs in their league. Liga Deportiva Alajuelense, the latest team to join the tournament, competes in Costa Rica’s Primera Division.

They are one of the most successful clubs in the league, having won the Primera Division on 30 occasions and the CONCACAF Champions League twice. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top